2023 BOLD Predictions

Plus, the Jonathan Taylor fallout

We’re back again! The Jonathan Taylor situation reached a disappointing interlude. The story isn’t over, and it’s probably going to get worse before it gets better with the Colts.

Before we tackle the ramifications of the newest edition of the Taylor Saga, I’m excited to give you my bold predictions for the 2023 season!

It’s always exciting when a prediction made in the preseason hits, especially if one is bold. And that’s the difficult part for me. I’m not a bold person. The readers who know me know that about me. So what might seem “bold” to me could be very much just a “high-end” projection to another person. But, I tried to come up with some predictions that need things to break just right, but aren’t outlandish and worth nothing but being thrown out.

2023 Fantasy Football Bold Predictions

🎖️ Brian Robinson goes for 1400 total yards and 10 TDs

This prediction might not be as bold as it seems at first glance. First off, Robinson is due for some touchdown regression based on his touches from last year. Secondly, BRob was on a 17-game pace of a little over 1200 total yards in his rookie season.

If Robinson gets the workload I think he does and a little bit of receiving work, I think this is well within reach.

📈 Diontae Johnson returns to PPR WR1 territory

Diontae Johnson is a target monster, with at least 144 targets in three straight years. Last year he had a historically bad season in the touchdown department, which is bound to fix itself in some way.

Johnson was the PPR WR8 in 2021, not long ago. His ADOT was at a career-high in 2022, his YPR stayed steady, and Kenny Pickett looks much improved going into his second year.

🤠 Jake Ferguson will be a top-8 fantasy TE by year's end

Dak Prescott has always loved his tight end, be it Jason Witten, Blake Jarwin, or Dalton Schultz. Ferguson stands to be the TE1 of the Cowboys, a role that’s been valuable historically. He had limited production as a rookie, but he was good for the big play more than once. And speaking of tight ends…

🐏 Tyler Higbee will have a 90-reception, 7-touchdown season

Higbee’s career high in receptions and touchdowns is 72 and 5, respectively. There are few targets ahead of him in the offense, mainly Cooper Kupp. Since 2015, there have been only 10 instances of a tight end catching 90 passes in a season. Travis Kelce was five of those seasons. Higbee can be a target monster if needed, and the Rams’ defense is going to be a lot worse than in years past. So he might be needed more than in past years.

🎖️ Sam Howell is a fantasy QB1 in 2023

Spicy much? I’ve seen bold takes on Howell, but I’ve not seen one quite like this. Remember the rushing quarterback newsletter from a few weeks back? I’m counting on Howell’s dual-threat ability to shine and vault him up to QB1 status.

It’s a tricky one because while the coaching staff likes him now, there are no guarantees that they let him start the whole year. Howell must show early on that he is the guy, and show the Commanders he gives them the best chance of winning.

Jonathan Taylor Fallout

It just doesn’t stop. Jonathan Taylor failed to find a new home by the Colts’ self-imposed trade deadline. Man, I was really hoping I was going to write this newsletter talking about how great the Miami offense was going to be. But such is life.

Taylor remained on the PUP list and will therefore miss the first four games. I didn’t find exactly how long you can remain on the PUP and still accrue a season of your contract, but it’s a stretch. One way or the other, we could be in for a long holdout until he gets a contract, gets traded, or forces himself to play due to the nature of the PUP holdout.

It’s ugly, to say the least. As for the Colts’ other running backs, Zack Moss likely leads the way as he was the RB2 before his injury. Deon Jackson and Evan Hull will factor in as well, but if I picked one I’d go with Hull. His receiving profile is top notch and he’s got good size to him. Overall though, this will be a committee and will be a backfield to stay away from unless it can’t be avoided or until clarification on touches comes.

Closing Thoughts

The season is nearly here! It’s less than a week away, and I can’t wait!

Some new rankings are up on my Google Sheet! I’ve done some re-formatting of the rankings, so you not only have tiers, which is my preferred way to draft but also individual rankings as well! I’m sure you’ll find some ranks to disagree with!

Next week, we’ll get into some early waivers and guys to watch, and then we’ll go over some of the matchups and things I’m looking at for the first week of football! And hey, have a great Labor Day Weekend, it’s gonna be a great week!

Reply

or to participate.